Six-Word Secrets

11 10 2008

There is more to tell about the hippy man but for now I am shying away from the fucked-up deep-thinking life of Lou-Lou posts and putting some rational thought into what is really important right now.

Here’s the deal. We all know I am currently jobless; the move is not on the cards anymore after the ruptures within my family ties. I have paid my rent so I have my apartment until the 7th of November, but in my money bag I have only 25 euros left and due to the fact that I sold everything two years ago when I left the UK I haven’t got a freaking thing to sell to help me on my way.

Finding a job is proving difficult. Living in a tourist resort is great in the summer, money is plentiful, the place is alive with people. Come the winter months it’s the complete opposite, people are laying off staff this time off year not taking on new ones.

It seems I am well and truly up shit street without a paddle, or however the saying goes (am sure I have that mixed up, why do you need a paddle in a street?) I don’t even have the money to get a flight back to my homeland, nor do I want to return to the UK.

And to top it all off, people keep saying things like this to me;

Well yeah, thanks.

I am sure one day I will look back on the poor, unemployed, lost, bitter twentysomething woman I am right now and say wow that was a hard lesson but I gained so much – but right now being stranded in a foreign country without family, money and hope looking to the future and thinking of the lessons that are going to be learnt just ain’t something I am all that keen on doing.

So in response to a blog entry I read earlier today about six-word secrets at The Rest Is Still Unwritten here’s mine;

Life’s fucked up; pass the vodka

Actions

Information

7 responses

11 10 2008
Six-Word Secrets | jdTVu

[…] the rest of this superb post right here Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a […]

11 10 2008
Den Relojo

Thanks for letting me know that some is using my identity to spread some nasty comments! I apprecaite it Lou-Lou

11 10 2008
Tylor

I think your comments on my blogs have become the ones I look forward to the most.

In response to your last comment: I think you got the jist of what I was trying to say about my Christian faith. Basically, all human beings are rather fucked up. We all make mistakes and we all sin and it is not possible for us to be pure and perfect in this lifetime. That is exactly the whole reason Christ came. You see, justice had to be served for what we do wrong but what Christ (being the only perfect person) took that punishment on himself.

I still believe that Christ is the only way to God but it has nothing to do with how good we are. Instead it is a matter of faith. All that is asked of us is that we have faith in what Christ did for us and commit to following after him. It is not required that we be perfect or good because we are not capable of that. We just need to have faith in Christ and when we do God does not see our impurities but instead sees the purity of Christ in our stead.

I know what you mean here in this post. All those pie-in-the-sky platitudes never did much to help me out. They may be true but they don’t really help were we are right now. I’ve often thought in reaction to those “don’t give me a cute saying, give me a hand up.”

Does all that make sense. I tend to ramble.

12 10 2008
shortdigitalpictures

Thanks for your comment on my blog. I’m in a similar situation as you are right now and i liked your post.

12 10 2008
Tylor

I think you are on the right track. The Bible itself says that doing good will not get you to God:

“There is therefore now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus. For the law of the Spirit of life in Christ Jesus has set you free from the law of sin and death. For God has done what the law, weakened by the flesh, could not do: by sending his own Son in the likeness of sinful flesh, and to deal with sin, he condemned sin in the flesh, so that the just requirement of the law might be fulfilled in us who walk not according to the flesh but according to the spirit.” – Romans 8:1-4

In other words. Christ did was we are not able to do (i.e. live perfectly and without sin). As a result of that all the people who have faith in that gift and committing themselves to God (i.e. pursuing what God whats time to do) need not fear death or damnation.

One of my favorite things in the Bible about living well is this: “Finally, Beloved, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is pleasing, whatever is commendable, if there is any excellence and if there is anything worthy of praise, think about these things” – Philippians 4:8.

We know in our hearts what is truly good and those are the things we should focus on. There are other things which we try and convince ourselves our good and try and justify in our minds but deep down we know that they aren’t as good as we make them out to be.

I saw in your ‘101 things’ page that you like to read and that you’ve read everything from history to Narnia. I was wondering if you have ever heard of the book “Mere Christianity” by C.S. Lewis? I would recommend that as a must read. I am yet to find a better explanation of what faith and Christianity truly is that avoids pious rhetoric and lofty platitudes. Instead it explains things in a way that nearly anyone in any walk of life can understand. I would recommend that if you want to dig deeper (I’d send it to you myself if i had a mailing address).

Hope to hear from you again soon.

13 10 2008
Robbie

Without trying to sound like some sort of Yoda character, doing the hardest thing might be best.

I don’t know all of the background to you current situation, where you live/family/etc…only what I’ve read in the last few posts, but if work is hard to come by then it would be easier to move to Malaga–or anywhere that doesn’t rely on tourism.
I’ve been extremely lucky with my job and my work is from the UK over the interweb, but if I had to look for a job now, here, I’d be stuck and think about going to the work.

If you don’t mind me asking what city/town or even Province do you live in?

20 10 2008
Duma Key

How many times I have thought the same thing…Vodka good for a while but it does not help.
There is little more I can add here, I know these times and these thoughts to well.

Leave a Reply

