My Human Moments

22 11 2008

Every time I move away from blogging for a while something brings me back here. The comments full of energy, hope and understand you all leave, the emails that drop into my box at just the right time, saying the right words. Blogging has become to me, a way of sharing everything inside myself and putting it out there for judgement. But for some reason I rarely receive critical judgement in my comments, more often I receive positive thoughts, inspiration and always understanding.

I often find it difficult to believe that in a world where people judge each other so quickly without even half of the true facts, I can come here put all my truths out there and face no judgement. Face no negativity. Dr Edward Hallowell wrote a book called ‘Human Moments’ which I adore as it teaches you to wake up to the smaller things in life, to take notice of the connections you make with the people that cross your path in life, both in a big way and small one.

A human moment can be the women who offers you half of her umbrella space while waiting at the bus stop in the rain, it can be the love a parents feels when watching their children play in the sunshine, it can be the warmth they feel while sitting with their partner on a barmy autumn afternoon or even the energy you feel from the man who broke into your thoughts with quite words that spring day when your riding to work on the train.

So many people take little things for granted – I too do it often, sometimes my phone rings and instead of reaching out and answering it and speaking to the friend or family member that is calling I ignore it as I feel like I can’t be bothered to speak – by doing that I am missing out on human moments. Missing out on a conversation that might just bring me a small piece of joy.

This blog for me, has been a whole ocean’s worth of human moments, your comments, your understanding, your encouragement to look to tomorrow when my today’s seem overwhelming, the poems and quotes that have been left, the recommendations of books or websites or just a ways of looking at things, the help that has been offered to me, the entries of your own blogs that I read and by doing so catch a glimpse of the truth of the people who’s support has come to be an integral part of my life. Everytime I come here you reach out and touch, I cannot see your faces but I feel your hearts.

Surely that’s one of the greatest gifts I will ever be likely to receive in this life.

Such a trite two words to say but ‘Thank you!’ you have no idea how you bring to me!

Actions

Information

10 responses

22 11 2008
cornishevangelist

For faith is believing in things that we cannot see. Now we must believe that what we have prayed for will soon manifest in our lives, for by faith we will truly receive.

Yet some people say, “ but it’s not easy and you don’t know what I am going through,” well, that is true, but it still doesn’t change the fact that Jesus said, “ All things are possible to them that believe,” and we must live by faith.

It is worth hoping and believing for things in our lives to change, it really does not matter what people say, or what we feel, for God said, “For the wisdom of this world is foolishness with God”. {1 Corinthians 3 v 19}. cornishevangelist. wordpress.com.

23 11 2008
Tylor

Thank you too, Lou Lou. I’m glad we could share our own moments.

25 11 2008
Skylinekt

Beautiful post.
I have taken much from your writings.

25 11 2008
mossy

Beautiful.

30 11 2008
shortdigitalpictures

Thank you for your lovely comment. It ment a lot to know that someone out there can be moved and recognize themselves in my little words : )

This entry made me think about that everyday people wake up and everyday something unexpected happens. Instead of just seeing the negative you made me reminiss on positve things that has happens on a day when everything seemed hopeless. Thank you for that!
Hope all’s well with you xx

9 12 2008
Tylor

Where have you gone?

10 12 2008
shortdigitalpictures

I was just wondering the same thing as Tylor..

12 12 2008
ar0undthewaygirl

I don’t know how many times I’ve ignored the phone, for no reason at all other than just simply not wanting to be bothered. Why? I’m not sure. I’ve found that over the years, I’ve done a pretty good job at secluding myself from the outside world, family and friends. With age, I realize that I’m growing lonely (through no fault of my own). Thank you for this post as I have come to a few realizations through reading. Take care.

12 12 2008
prinshes

You write your mind…admirable!

19 12 2008
mossy

Hello Lou Lou.

Long time no post.

I am about the same. Must be something in the air.

Leave a Reply

